What’s Wrong With Gelatin?!

Picture

What most people don’t think of when eating sweeter foods is the ingredients within them. Usually people who have a sweet tooth tend to just want to dig in without reading the nutritional information or ingredients. You’d expect to find ingredients like corn syrup, wheat flour, and sugar, but in return you stubble upon a word within he list labeled gelatin. When eating these types of foods this ingredient is defiantly one to look out for.
What is gelatin? Well, it’s basically made out of left over animal parts from the slaughterhouse. Such things include pig skin, animal tissue, bones, hooves, and skins. It’s actually pretty disgusting, especially when you take a peek at what this actually looks like! This may also include kosher which can be particularly made from fish. Although this is not always certain, my advice is to stand clear unless you know 100%. 
What’s important to get out of this is that although many foods contain gelatin, a lot of them don’t! Checking the ingredients is a simple and effective method to this madness. To make things easier, I will provide a list of many common foods containing gelatin and similar food that don’t. Of course, these are not ALL of them, as those you can find by reading the label at the store of researching online. Also, “vegan gelatin is probably not going to be available in every local supermarket, so start with your local health food store. When checking the ingredient list on the package, look for things like agar-agar, guar gum or carrageen, all of which are derived from plants or seaweed.”

 

Disclaimer: This is for United States only, some foods may vary from country to country.
Foods that commonly contain gelatin (unless vegan version or accidently vegan; found below). * = may:

  • Marshmallows, including Peeps
  • Medications*
  • Vitamins specifically gel capsules*
  • Sour cream*
  • Fruit snacks*
  • Jello
  • Gummy bears/worms
  • Cake icing/frosting*
  • Cream cheese*
  • Soups*
  • Sauces*
  • Gravies*
  • Jelly*
  • Yogurt*
  • Pop tarts* (gelatin-free without marshmallows or icing)
  • Mini Wheats
  • Frosted Cereals*
  • Starbursts
  • Skittles* (now vegan but check label as some may not to be the new ones) 
  • Junior Mints
  • Trifles
  • Aspic
  • Hostess Cupcakes
  • Margarine
  • Shortening*
  • Rice Crispy Treats
  • Cheesecake*
  • Cakes*
  • Cookies*
  • Cereals with marshmallows (i.e. Lucky Charms)
  • Ice Cream*
  • Energy bars*
  • Snak Club Apple and Peach Rings
  • Lifesaver Gummies
  • Valentine’s Day Conversation Hearts
  • Twinkies
  • Ice Breakers Gum
  • Mentos*
  • Nail Polish Remover*
  • Shampoo/Conditioner* (unlikely)
  • Jelly beans*
  • Whipped cream*
  • Face wash* unlikely
  • Trident Layers Gum
  • Candy Corn
  • Beer*
  • Planter’s Dry Roasted Peanuts
  • Ice Packs*
  • Extra Polar Ice Gum
  • Orbit Crystal Gum
 
Although these products do or may contain gelatin, there are vegan alternatives/options to many of these which I will list below:

 
Clearly, there is a huge list of gelatin containing items and gelatin-free foods and of course, these are only some of many! With that being said, it typically boils down to reading the food label itself to be accurate. Plus, you never know when a product could add gelatin or discontinue the use of gelatin. Keep your eyes peeled and happy reading!Don’t forget you can easily make your own gelatin-free foods at home like vegan marshmallows and gelatin (jello)! Also, check out the informative video(s) on marshmallows (2 part video below — the last video proves how cautious you must be) and how they don’t come from marsh mallow plants like before!
Picture
Share!Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on TumblrPin on PinterestTweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUponShare on Reddit
  • Pingback: Most Nail Polish Contains Gelatin?!()

  • Pingback: Know what you are Eating…!! | Shakahari Blog()

  • Chelsea Grin

    I’m here to find out what food contain Gelatin because of this that I just read:

    Gelatin is largely composed of the amino acids glycine and proline, which many people don’t consume in adequate amounts as they are found in the bones, fibrous tissues and organs of animals and as a population, we don’t consume these parts as much anymore. These amino acids are needed not only for proper skin, hair and nail growth, but for optimal immune function and weight regulation!

    One theory is that the decline of gelatin containing foods in our diets has led to an increase in cellulite as we don’t have the needed building blocks for healthy connective tissue. Either way, it is another remedy that is good for other reasons and worth a try.

    Most things our bodies need from meat can be found from other sources, but I don’t think Gelatin can. Lots of luck vegetarians.

    • True-Animal-Lover

      I can tell you that being a lifelong vegan over 45 years, I don’t have any trouble with glycine and proline. Nor any other body requirements. In fact, there are tons of plant-based foods that are high in proline. That includes cabbage, soy protein, soy sauce made from tamari, cabbage, seaweed (spirulina), watercress, asparagus, chives, jute, horseradish, spinach, mushrooms, broccoli and broccoli rabe. Plus, bamboo shoots, tofu, tempeh, peanuts, seitan, buckwheat, beans, cucumbers, alfalfa sprouts…. the list goes on. As for glycin, you don’t need any animal products for that either. High levels of glycin can be had in bananas, cucumbers, beans, pumpkins, kale, cauliflower, soybeans, spinach, cabbage, kiwi fruit, etc., etc.
      There are numerous alternatives for gelatin. Our bodies do not need gelatin which is absolutely disgusting. If you witnessed the making of gelatin first hand, you would never want to see or hear that word again. I don’t care how sick you are.
      My entire family is vegans. 99% of my friends and co-workers are vegans. They are in excellent health, and none of them take any medications, just the usual daily multi-vitamin that everyone takes. Nothing special except eating well and staying away from anything that comes from an animal. Best part? You get to live, and so do the animals. It is a win, win.